Recipe

CHILLED TOFU WITH UMEBOSHI PASTE🇯🇵

Thumbnail | Link

CHILLED TOFU WITH UMEBOSHI PASTE🇯🇵
.
Food & 📸 by: @plantbased_matters
Recipe link in bio above or at plantbasedmatters.net

This dish is another variation of chilled tofu, hiyayakko, a typical Japanese dish. Chilled Tofu with Umeboshi Paste is silken tofu with tangy & salty umeboshi paste on top. It’s vegan, no added oil, super easy and quick to make with only 5 ingredients.

Chilled Tofu (Hiyayakko)

As mentioned in the beginning, chilled tofu (hiyayakko) is a typical Japanese side dish. You can make it with with either silken tofu or firm tofu. It’s a simple dish to prepare. The traditional way is to serve with bonito flakes but since this is a vegan recipe it will be made without. Otherwise, it’s the same simple principals you can follow to prepare any hiyayakko:

Tofu

Scallions

Ginger

Soy Sauce

There are some variations and arrangements you can do with toppings and sauce, like this recipe.

What is Umeboshi?

Umeboshi [梅干し] is pickled (brined) Japanese ume plum. It’s sour and salty although the level of sourness and saltiness varies. Umeboshi is one of the popular pickles to eat rice with. It’s super salty that a little bit goes a long way. The most common way to eat umeboshi is with rice. Because of the sourness and saltiness, it’s also ideal for using as “salad dressing” to replace any typical salad dressing. It’s a lot healthier too because umeboshi is oil-free!!
Typically, umeboshi is packed and sold as a whole with a seed in it. To make a paste, grab a couple and simply remove the seed then place them on a cutting board and chop them with a knife.

Luckily, here in the U.S., we can find this umeboshi paste from Eden Foods and that’s what we use!
You could also find umeboshi (paste or whole) at your local Asian grocery stores. I’m pretty sure that you can find it at Japanese grocery stores, and some Korean and Chinese markets carry it as well. Whether to buy paste one or whole, be sure to check the ingredients list as some products are made with honey which is obviously not vegan-friendly.

Find out the full list of ingredients and more at plantbasedmatters.net!